The Cross-Border Transport Agreement (CBTA) was originally a trilateral agreement between and among the governments of the Lao People’s Republic, the Kingdom of Thailand, and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam signed on November 26, 1999 at Vientiane. The Kingdom of Cambodia acceded to the CBTA in 2001, the People’s Republic of China in 2002, and the Union of Myanmar in 2003.

The CBTA provides a practical approach to streamlining regulations and reducing nonphysical barriers in the GMS. It covers the following areas:

  • single-stop/single-window customs inspection
  • cross-border movement of persons (i.e., visas for persons engaged in transport operations)
  • transit traffic regimes, including exemptions from physical customs inspection, bond deposit, escort, and agriculture and veterinary inspection
  • requirements that road vehicles will have to meet to be eligible for cross-border traffic
  • exchange of commercial traffic rights and
  • infrastructure, including road and bridge design standards, road signs, and signals.

The CBTA is now formally known as The Agreement between and among the Governments of the Kingdom of Cambodia, the People's Republic of China, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, the Union of Myanmar, the Kingdom of Thailand, and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam for the Facilitation of Cross-Border Transport of Goods and People. Visit for more information.


GMS-Cross Border Transport Agreement
Asian Development Bank (ADB)
6th Floor, Mekong Department
6 ADB Avenue, Mandaluyong City
1550, Metro Manila, Philippines
Fax Number: +63-2 636-2227
Email contact form

Proceedings of the Meetings of GMS Working Group on Transport