The Coral Triangle Initiative: Sharing the Catch

The Coral Triangle Initiative on Coral Reefs, Fisheries, and Food Security (CTI) was launched in 2007 as a six-country program of regional cooperation to protect these economic and environmental assets. It has received political endorsement from declarations of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN).

All six cooperating governments (Indonesia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste) have taken important steps toward addressing threats to the Coral Triangle through the collaborative development of a regional plan of action and the preparation of national plans of action to guide country and local level implementation.