The Eastern Islands of Indonesia: An Overview of Development Needs and Potential

Publication | January 1993

While there is no universally accepted definition for the term 'Eastern Indonesia,' the Government uses the term to cover all those islands outside java, Sumatra, Bali and Madura, specifically, provinces in Kalimantan, Sulawesi, West Nusa Tenggara, East Nusa Tenggara, East Timor, Maluku, and Irian Jaya. For the purposes of the Bank identifying a possible operational role in the Eastern region, this government definition can be accepted. However, because of Bali's importance as a regional transport center, its position at the gateway of much of the region, and its relatively high incidence of poverty, Bali has been included in the regional statistics upon which this report is based. Despite this statistical inclusion, however, it should be recognized that the operational focus of this Report is on the developmental constraints and potential of the Eastern region as defined by the Government.


  • Map
  • Executive Summary
  • Introduction
  • Economic Profile of the Eastern Region
  • Sustainability and Resource Exploitation
  • Implications for Bank Operations
  • Appendixes