Financial Monitoring in the New ASEAN-5 Countries

Date: May 2014
Type: Papers and Briefs
Series: Regional Economic Integration Working Papers
Author: Lim, Se Hee; Reyes, Noel G.


The five newest members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)—Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Myanmar, and Viet Nam—continue to develop their financial sectors and catch up with the rest of Southeast Asia prior to the launch of ASEAN Economic Community in 2015. This paper examines the status and concerns regarding the five nation’s financial sector development and the impact of global financial reforms after the crisis.


  • Abstract
  • Introduction
  • BCLMV Countries and the ASEAN Economic Community
  • Diversity of the BCLMV Countries
  • The Key Development Issues
  • Summary Findings and Recommendations
  • References