Financial Sector Development in the Pacific DMCs - Volume 2: Country Report

Publication | September 2001

This regional report assesses the state of financial sector development in seven of the 12 Pacific developing member countries of the ADB.

It consolidates the findings of individual country reports on the Fiji Islands, Kiribati, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, and Vanuatu (presented in a second volume), and recommends strategies for developing sound financial systems in the areas of

  • macroeconomic policy
  • banking systems
  • nonbank financial institutions
  • financial markets
  • microfinance
  • land tenure systems


  • Introduction
  • The Fiji Islands
  • Kiribati
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Vanuatu