Greater Mekong Subregion Economic Cooperation Program: Overview

Date: March 2012
Type: Brochures and Flyers


The Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS) is made up of Cambodia, the People’s Republic of China (PRC, specifically Yunnan Province and Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region), the Lao People’s Democratic Republic (Lao PDR), Myanmar, Thailand, and Viet Nam. In 1992, with assistance from the Asian Development Bank (ADB) and building on their shared histories and cultures, the six countries of the GMS launched a program of subregional economic cooperation—the GMS Program—to enhance their economic relations, covering the nine priority sectors: agriculture, energy, environment, human resource development, investment, telecommunications, tourism, transport infrastructure, and transport and trade facilitation. The GMS Program, with the support of ADB and other development partners, is helping the participating countries achieve the Millennium Development Goals through increased connectivity, improved competitiveness, and a greater sense of community (the three Cs).


  • The GMS Program
  • Institutional Arrangements
  • Program Sectors
  • Recent Developments