ADF Partners

The Asian Development Fund (ADF) is a partnership between ADB and its member countries. Financed mainly by contributions of ADB members, ADF supports the economic and social development of the most vulnerable countries in the region.

To date, 33 members of ADB have provided direct contributions to ADF. The largest contributors are, in descending order, Japan, the United States, Australia, Canada, Germany, the United Kingdom, and France. The breakdown of contributions from non-regional and regional members is about 51%:49% of total pledged contributions.

As of 31 December 2013, total contributions to ADF amounted to $37.5 billion equivalent at 31 December 2013 exchange rates.

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • China, People's Republic of
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong, China
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Korea, Republic of
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • The Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Singapore
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taipei,China
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

ADF Recipients

Share by Region* %
Central and West Asia 38%
East Asia 2%
Pacific 4%
South Asia 29%
Southeast Asia 27%
Volume by Country* $ million
Bangladesh 469
Viet Nam 459
Afghanistan 352
Pakistan 274
Nepal 270

* 2009-2013 average annual approvals; including regional

Group A (ADF Only): Afghanistan, Bhutan, Cambodia, Kiribati, Kyrgyz Republic, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tajikistan, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

Group B (Blend, ADF and OCR): Armenia, Bangladesh, Georgia, the Federated States of Micronesia, Mongolia, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Uzbekistan, and Viet Nam.

Note: India is eligible for ADF assistance under ADB’s Graduation Policy but currently does not have access to the ADF.