Gender Mainstreaming Categories


ADB follows a 4-tier gender categorization system to assess the extent to which projects integrate gender issues. These categories had been used since 1998 to monitor ADB's gender performance.  The categorization is done "at entry" when sovereign projects are approved. 

The four categories are:

Category I: gender equity as a theme (GEN);

Category II: effective gender mainstreaming (EGM);

Category III: some gender elements (SGE); and

Category IV: no gender elements (NGE)

For a description of the criteria for these categories, see the Guidelines for Gender Mainstreaming Categories of ADB Projects (updated on 6 July 2012).