Administrative Tribunal

ADB Board of Directors established the Administrative Tribunal in 1991 as an external mechanism to review personnel decisions by Management.

Composition of the Tribunal

The ADB Administrative Tribunal is composed of five judges who are nationals from ADB's members.

The current members of the Tribunal are:

Ms. Lakshmi Swaminathan

President, ADB Administrative Tribunal; Former Vice-Chairman (Judicial) of the Central Administrative Tribunal, Principal Bench (New Delhi); Former Joint Secretary and Legal Advisor, Ministry of Law and Justice (Government of India)

Ms. Gillian Triggs

Vice-President, ADB Administrative Tribunal; President, Australian Human Rights Commission; Former Barrister, Seven Wentworth Chambers; Emeritus Professor of International Law, Sydney Law School, The University of Sydney

Mr. Shin-ichi Ago

Professor of Law, Ritsumeikan University, Professor Emeritus, former Law Dean and Vice-President at Kyushu University.

Ms. Anne Trebilcock

Chair of the Grievance Committee of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development; Former ILO Legal Adviser; lecturer, UN Audiovisual Library of International Law; author.

Mr. Chris De Cooker

President of the NATO Administrative Tribunal; Frequent Adviser on internal justice systems to, e.g., EBRD, IMF, Worldbank, UN, Nordic Investment Bank, WHO, etc.; Author, legal publications and reports

Tribunal Secretariat

Cesar L. Villanueva, Executive Secretary

Attorney Villanueva is a senior partner in the law firm of Villanueva, Gabionza & De Santos in Manila, and is a member of the Board of Directors of Makati Medical Center, the Clark Electric Distribution Corporation, and the Clark International Airport Corporation. He is currently the Dean of the Ateneo de Manila Law School, and a professorial lecturer in corporation law; agency, trusts, partnerships and joint ventures; and, law on sales.

Christine Griffiths, Assistant to the Administrative Tribunal

Ms. Griffiths, a national of Australia, has worked with the ADBT Secretariat since 2003. Prior to joining ADB, she worked in the International Organisations and Legal Division of the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and as an insurance litigation lawyer at Gadens Ridgeway Solicitors.