About Asian Development Bank Institute (ADBI) | Asian Development Bank

At the forefront of growth and development in Asia and the Pacific

About Asian Development Bank Institute (ADBI)

ADBI has moved into the ranks of the top 25 think tanks worldwide, according to the 2018 Global Go to Think Tank Index Report. ADBI has also retained its world’s second-best government-affiliated think tank ranking for a fifth straight year.

ADBI provides intellectual input for policy makers in ADB’s developing member countries (DMCs). It does so by conducting research with a focus on medium- to long-term development issues of strategic importance that affects the region and through capacity building and training (CBT) activities that contribute to ADB’s overarching objective of poverty reduction.

The objectives of ADBI are to identify effective development strategies and improve the capacity for sound development of the agencies and organizations engaged in development work in ADB’s DMCs. ADBI focuses its activities on areas where it has a strategic advantage, such as the analysis of emerging policy issues from regional as well as medium- to long-term perspectives, and the facilitation of policy dialogue among senior DMC policy makers. ADBI also seeks to enhance its visibility, impact, and accessibility through high-quality knowledge products and services. It strives to be a trusted source of insight, knowledge, and information to which policy makers, academics, and others interested in Asia’s development issues turn for guidance.

Key Facts

Dean Naoyuki Yoshino
Office Tokyo, Japan
Founded 1997
Departments
Personnel 62, representing 11 nationalities
Budget $17,764 million

Official Holidays

ADBI will be closed for these official holidays in 2019:

New Year's Day (元旦) Tuesday, 1 January
New Year Holiday (正月休み) Wednesday, 2 January
New Year Holiday (正月休み) Thursday, 3 January
Coming-of-Age Day (成人の日) Monday, 14 January
National Foundation Day (建国記念の日) Monday, 11 February
Vernal Equinox Day (春分の日) Thursday, 21 March
Showa Day (昭和の日) Monday, 29 April
Holiday pursuant to the Act on National Holidays, Article 3-3
(祝日法3条3項に基づく祝日)
Tuesday, 30 April
New Emperor's Coronation Day (天皇の即位の日) Wednesday, 1 May
Holiday pursuant to the Act on National Holidays, Article 3-3
(祝日法3条3項に基づく祝日)
Thursday, 2 May
Constitution Memorial Day (憲法記念日) Friday, 3 May
Greenery Day (みどりの日) Saturday, 4 May
Children's Day (子供の日) Sunday, 5 May
Substitute Holiday (振替休日) Monday, 6 May
Marine Day (海の日) Monday, 15 July
Mountain Day (山の日) Sunday, 11 August
Substitute Holiday (振替休日) Monday, 12 August
Respect for the Aged Day (敬老の日) Monday, 16 September
Autumnal Equinox Day (秋分の日) Monday, 23 September
Health and Sports Day (体育の日) Monday, 14 October
The Core Enthronement Ceremony Day
(即位礼正殿の儀が行なわれる日)
Tuesday, 22 October
Culture Day (文化の日) Sunday, 3 November
Substitute Holiday (振替休日) Monday, 4 November
Labor Thanksgiving Day (勤労感謝の日) Saturday, 23 November
Year End Holiday (年末休み) Monday, 30 December
Year End Holiday (年末休み) Tuesday, 31 December

Note: Article 3-3 of the Act on National Holidays
The day between two other national holidays becomes a holiday if the day is not a Sunday.