Developing Asia Journalism Awards (DAJA)

ADBI News Release | 30 January 2024

The DAJA 2024 selection process was completed. Please find the list of selected articles here.

ADBI with support from The Rockefeller Foundation is resuming the Developing Asia Journalism Awards (DAJA), an initiative to promote works of journalism that accurately report on global efforts advancing sustainable development amid intensifying climate risks. The Awards were originally launched in 2004 under the leadership of former ADBI Dean Peter McCawley.

Application is now open for the region’s reporters to submit articles on climate change. They should discuss one of below three topics in connection with climate change.

  1. Food security
  2. Health preparedness and resilience
  3. Macrofinancial stability

Application Qualifications
The journalist, or the main author if the article was produced by multiple journalists, must be a citizen of an Asian Development Bank member economy.

DAJA only accepts text-format articles written in English and by journalists. To be eligible for consideration, articles must have appeared in a regularly published newspaper, magazine, wire service, or news site during the period 1 January 2023–29 February 2024.

Submission Procedure
Submissions should be made via this link no later than 1 March 2024 at 17:00 Tokyo time. The successful applicants will be notified in late April.

Arrangement for Competition Winners
Authors of up to five selected articles will be invited to an award ceremony in Tokyo in July to receive a certificate and a $1,000 cash prize. If the article was produced by multiple journalists, one representative per article would be eligible to participate in the Tokyo ceremony.

The Tokyo ceremony will be joined by ADBI Dean Tetsushi Sonobe, the DAJA selection committee, and ADBI researchers to discuss the selected articles and related regional issues.

Selection Committee:


  • Anthony Rowley, Former Business Editor and International Finance Editor of the Far Eastern Economic Review
  • Elaine Kurtenbach, Asia Business Editor, The Associated Press
  • Lin Suling, Opinion Editor, The Straits Times
  • Michiyo Nakamoto, Former Deputy Bureau Chief, Tokyo Bureau Financial Times

Advisory Panel:

  • Haruhiko Kuroda, Former Bank of Japan Governor; Former Asian Development Bank President 
  • Bambang Brodjonegoro, Former Minister of Finance, Minister of National Development Planning, and Minister of Research and Technology, Indonesia
  • Deepali Khanna, Vice President, Asia Regional Office, The Rockefeller Foundation
  • Shinobu Yume Yamaguchi, Director, Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability, United Nations University
  • Vijay Joshi, CEO and Editor-in-Chief, Press Trust of India; Former News Director, Southeast Asia and Deputy Regional Editor, Asia Pacific, the Associated Press
  • Sonoko Watanabe, Managing Executive Officer, Nikkei Inc.