What are ADB’s departments and offices?

Budget, Personnel, and Management Systems Department (BPMSD)

Provides advice and services in budget, staff management, human resources, staff development, benefits, and compensation.

Central and West Asia Department (CWRD)

Covers operations in Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

Controller's Department (CTL)

Maintains accounting policy and systems, prepares financial reports, and authorizes loan, technical assistance, grants, disbursements, and other payments.

Corporate Services Department (CSD)

Provides administrative support to help management and staff enhance workplace effectiveness.

Department of Communications (DOC)

Provides leadership, resources, and strategies for communicating with internal and external audiences.

East Asia Department (EARD)

Covers operations in the People's Republic of China; Hong Kong, China; Republic of Korea; Mongolia; and Taipei,China.

Economic Research and Regional Cooperation Department (ERCD)

Conducts rigorous data analysis and produces quarterly macroeconomic updates on developing Asia.

Independent Evaluation Department (IED)

Helps ADB continuously improve its development effectiveness and accountability.

Information Technology Department (ITD)

Manages ADB's automated information systems and telecommunications services.

Office of Anticorruption and Integrity (OAI)

Point of contact for allegations of fraud or corruption pertaining to ADB-financed activities or staff members/consultants.

Office of Professional Ethics and Conduct (OPEC)

Provides training and advice on ethics and conduct and helps resolve workplace concerns.

Office of Public–Private Partnership (OPPP)

Responsible for coordinating and supporting ADB's public–private partnership operations, and for providing transaction advisory services.

Office of Risk Management (ORM)

Responsible for policy, system, and operational risk; credit risk assessment; credit portfolio monitoring; corporate recovery; and market and treasury risk.

Office of the Auditor General (OAG)

Undertakes financial, administrative, and information systems audits, assists external auditors.

Office of the Compliance Review Panel (OCRP)

Provides support to ADB's independent Compliance Review Panel which investigates ADB's compliance with its operational policies and procedures in project work.

Office of the General Counsel (OGC)

Handles all legal aspects of operations and activities, including providing legal advice.

Office of the Ombudsperson (OOMP)

Provides ADB staff with a confidential, impartial, off-the-record, and independent setting to discuss and resolve work related concerns and issues. Alerts Management to trends and concerns about the workplace that should be addressed.

Office of the Secretary (SEC)

Provides advice and counsel to ADB’s Board of Governors, Board of Directors, and management.

Office of the Special Project Facilitator (OSPF)

Responsible for actively responding to the concerns of people affected by ADB-assisted projects through fair, transparent, and consensus-based approaches.

Pacific Department (PARD)

Covers operations in Cook Islands, Republic of Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

Procurement, Portfolio, and Financial Management Department (PPFD)

Responsible for planning, monitoring, and coordinating project processing and administration work programs, procurement reviews, and consultant recruitment.

Private Sector Operations Department (PSOD)

Provides direct assistance to private sector projects with clear development impact.

South Asia Department (SARD)

Covers operations in Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, and Sri Lanka.

Southeast Asia Department (SERD)

Covers operations in Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, and Viet Nam.

Strategy, Policy, and Partnerships Department (SPD)

Strategic planning and direction; policy and operations coordination, and relations with the development community.

Sustainable Development and Climate Change Department (SDCC)

Provides leadership, innovation, and knowledge sharing for ADB's sector and thematic work.

Transformation Office (TO)

Provides oversight of ADB's organizational transformation under the bank's New Operating Model.

Treasury Department (TD)

Responsible for mobilizing funds for operations and planning, as well as managing ADB's finances.

More details including organizational chart are in Departments and Offices

Need more help?

Request Information from ADB