Evaluation of ADB Support for the South Asia Subregional Economic Cooperation Program, 2011–2022

Evaluation Document | 09 November 2023

ONGOING EVALUATION. The SASEC Program is a regional cooperation partnership of seven countries (Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, and Sri Lanka) that aims to improve economic opportunities and build a better quality of life for the people of the subregion through promoting cross-country cooperation to address development constraints.

The Independent Evaluation Department (IED) of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) will assess the performance and results of ADB support for the SASEC Program during 2011–2022, as part of a series of evaluations of ADB's regional economic cooperation programs. Upon completion of this third evaluation, IED will produce a synthesis note drawing from all three evaluations. 
The evaluation will inform future ADB support for the SASEC Program and other regional programs, by examining the Program's strategies, implementation, and institutional arrangements. The evaluation will also generate lessons to help shape the design and implementation of ADB's regional economic cooperation programs in the context of ADB's Strategy 2030 and ADB's New Operating Model.