Eleven (11) Small Pacific Island Countries: Country Operations Business Plan (2020-2022)

Institutional Document | October 2019

The Pacific Approach, 2016–2020 serves as the Asian Development Bank (ADB) country partnership strategy for the 11 small Pacific island countries (PIC-11). In line with the Pacific Approach, the PIC-11 country operations business plan (COBP), 2020–2022 reflects a multicountry approach that identifies common development challenges and opportunities for operational efficiencies across the PIC-11. 

The PIC-11 COBP, 2020–2022 is aligned with Strategy 2030, and the relevant operational priorities are reflected in the indicative assistance program for 2019 and pipeline for 2020–2022. The PIC-11 COBP, 2020–2022 supports the three strategic priorities of the Pacific Approach: reducing costs, managing risks, and enabling value creation. The priorities of the Pacific Approach, 2016–2020 remain valid for the PIC-11 COBP, 2020–2022, until the new Pacific Approach for 2021–2025 is approved in 2020.


  • Consistency of Business Plan with the Pacific Approach
  • Indicative Resource Parameters
  • Summary of Changes to Lending and Nonlending Programs
  • Appendixes

Additional Details

  • Cook Islands
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia, Federated States of
  • Nauru
  • Palau
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

Subscribe to our monthly digest of latest ADB publications.

Follow ADB Publications on social media.