Eurasian Development Bank

The Eurasian Development Bank (EDB), established in 2006 by Russia and Kazakhstan, is a financial organization that seeks to promote economic growth and integration in Eurasia. Other members of the bank are Armenia, Belarus, the Kyrgyz Republic, and Tajikistan, which also are its priority countries to support.

EDB started working with ADB in 2013 in the areas of agriculture, transport, energy, and public services. In 2016, ADB and EDB renewed their partnership. In 2019, 6 projects totaling $480 million were approved. Of these, four were committed, one was cancelled, and another will only be committed when the cofinancing agreement has been signed.

Cumulative project-specific cofinancing $395 million   
1 January 2014–31 December 2019 Cofinanced Projects
Country Project Cofinancing Amount ($ million) Type of Cofinancinga
Armenia North-South Road Corridor Investment Program—Tranche 3 150.00 L
Kyrgyz Republic Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation Corridor 3 (Bishkek-Osh Road) Improvement Phase 4 60.00 L
Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation Corridors 1 and 3 Connector Road 85.00 L
Toktogul Rehabilitation Phase 2 100.00 L

a L = official loan cofinancing