International Fund for Agricultural Development

The International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) started working with ADB upon its establishment in 1977. IFAD is a specialized agency of the United Nations devoted to agriculture and rural development. IFAD’s collaboration with ADB prioritizes support to Afghanistan, Armenia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, Samoa, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Uzbekistan, and Viet Nam.

At a Glance

Cumulative Project-Specific Cofinancing

$656.9 million


2020 Project-Specific Cofinancing

  • $40 million

In 2020 and with cofinancing of $40 million, IFAD supported an integrated water resources development program in Afghanistan’s Arghandab. ADB and IFAD’s first cooperation agreement signed in 1978 was superseded by a memorandum of understanding in 2013. A framework cofinancing agreement was signed by ADB and IFAD in Rome in December 2014 to strengthen collaboration toward increased agricultural development and food security in select countries in the Asia and Pacific region.

1 January 2014–31 December 2020 Cofinanced Project
Country Project Cofinancing Amount ($ million) Type of cofinancinga
Afghanistan Arghandab Integrated Water Resources Development 40 G
Cambodia Tonle Sap Poverty Reduction and Smallholder Development—Additional Financing 10 L
Indonesia Integrated Participatory Development and Management of Irrigation Program 100 G/L
Lao People's Democratic Republic Northern Smallholder Livestock Commercialization 10 G/L

a L for loan, G for grant

Interested in learning about financing partnerships? Contact Us