MANILA, PHILIPPINES (1 July 2021) — The Asian Development Bank (ADB) today opened the voting process for its President for a 5-year term starting on 24 November 2021.

ADB Governors were invited to nominate candidates for the position from 31 May to 30 June. ADB President Masatsugu Asakawa is the sole nominee. ADB Governors are invited to vote on Mr. Asakawa's candidacy by 30 August 2021. 

Mr. Asakawa was first elected as President on 30 November 2019 and assumed the Presidency on 17 January 2020 to serve the remaining term of his predecessor, Takehiko Nakao.

Read Mr. Asakawa’s Vision Statement (Summary and Full Statement).

In electing a President, the ADB Charter requires a majority of the total number of Governors, which must represent a majority of the total voting power of ADB members. The result of the election will be announced once the Board of Directors has recorded the votes. Learn more about the election process.

ADB is committed to achieving a prosperous, inclusive, resilient, and sustainable Asia and the Pacific, while sustaining its efforts to eradicate extreme poverty. Established in 1966, it is owned by 68 members—49 from the region.

Media Contact