Translation Framework

English is the working language of ADB. Nonetheless, ADB recognizes the need to communicate more widely and effectively by expanding the extent of information made available in languages other than English used in ADB's developing member countries.

In March 2007, ADB’s Management approved a translation framework which became the basis for systematic decision making as to what documents should routinely be translated. In accordance with ADB's commitment to increase shared information under the Public Communications Policy (PCP), the framework complements ADB's communications efforts with external stakeholders in line with its operational needs. In December 2012, Management approved an update of the 2007 Translation Framework in the context of ADB's revised Public Communications Policy (PCP) 2011.

Since the implementation of the framework, the volume of translation work has grown fivefold across ADB. The top five languages, where demand for translated documents has been the highest, are Chinese, Russian, Vietnamese, Bahasa Indonesia, and Khmer. ADB also translates documents periodically into 24 other languages of its member countries including Armenian, Azeri, Bangla, Dari, Fijian, Filipino, Georgian, Hindi, Hindustani, Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Lao, Mongolian, Nepali, Pashto, Sinhala, Tajik, Tamil, Tetum, Thai, Tok Pisin, Tongan, Urdu, and Uzbek.

What documents or information are mandated for translation by ADB Policies?


What other documents are recommended for translation under the translation framework?


The public may request that a document be translated into a particular language by sending an e-mail to the Department of External Relations' (DER) InfoUnit.


This page was generated from on 29 May 2017