中华人民共和国人口老龄化与养老服务启示 | 亚洲开发银行

中华人民共和国人口老龄化与养老服务启示

出版物 | 2018年9月
中华人民共和国人口老龄化与养老服务启示

本简要讨论了人口老龄化对中华人民共和国等经济体的影响,并分享了中国目前的老年老年护理制度、其缺点和政策启示。

从长远来看,人口老龄化不利于经济发展,因为老年人口比例的增加会减少劳动力和成人人均产出,以及增加社会保障负担。政策变化可以部分抵消劳动力短缺带来的影响。可能采取的措施包括:提高女性的参与率,增加移民政策的灵活性,以及通过提高职业技术教育和培训的相关性与质量来减少技能不匹配问题等。此外,为了满足日益增加的老年人需求,建立一个高效、可持续的养老体系至为重要。

中华人民共和国(中国)是世界上人口最多的国家,也是人口老龄化最为严重的国家之一。在面临人口老龄化挑战的很多亚洲经济体中,中国的情况尤其严重。中国以前受益于有利的人口年龄结构——即所谓的“人口红利”,但人口增长放缓、人口老龄化以及生育率下降和预期寿命上升等,正将这种红利转化为一种经济和社会负担。

要点

  • 提高女性的参与率,增加移民政策的灵活性,以及通过提高职业技术教育和培训的相关性与质量来减少技能不匹配等问题,从而有助于缓解人口老龄化带来的劳动力短缺压力。建立一个高效、可持续的养老体系对于满足老年人日益增加的需求也至关重要。
  • 在政策领域内,重点应放在(i)对养老服务补贴计划进行改革;(ii)确定标准化的护理需求评估体系与明确的养老标准;以及(iii)为养老护理服务管理者与提供者制定人力资源开发战略。

Aging and Implications for Elderly Care Services in the People’s Republic of China | Asian Development Bank

Aging and Implications for Elderly Care Services in the People’s Republic of China

Publication | September 2018
Aging and Implications for Elderly Care Services in the People’s Republic of China

This brief discusses impacts of an aging population on an economy like the People’s Republic of China and shares the country’s present elderly care system, its drawbacks, and policy implications.

Aging can be harmful to an economy over the long run, as an increase in the share of the elderly population reduces both the labor force and output per adult, and increases the social security burden. Policy changes can partly offset the labor squeeze. Possible measures include increased female participation rates, increased flexibility of migration policies, and improved relevance and quality of technical and vocational training to reduce possible skills mismatch. Moreover, it is crucial to establish an efficient and sustainable elderly care system to meet the rising needs of the elderly.

The People’s Republic of China (PRC) has the largest elderly population and is one of the most rapidly aging countries in the world, leading a league of many Asian economies that face the challenge of population aging. The country previously benefited from a favorable age structure—the so-called “demographic dividend”—but slowing population growth and an aging population associated with a declining fertility rate and rising life expectancy are turning this dividend into a burden, both economically and socially.

Key Points

  • Increasing female participation rates, increasing flexibility of migration policies, and improving relevance and quality of technical and vocational education and training to reduce skills mismatch could help offset the labor squeeze brought about by an aging population. The establishment of an efficient and sustainable elderly care system is also crucial in meeting the rising needs of the elderly.
  • In the policy area, focus should be placed on (i) reforming the elderly care service subsidy scheme, (ii) establishing a standardized care needs assessment and clear standards on elderly care, and (iii) developing a human resources development strategy for care service managers and providers.