中华人民共和国(中国)湖南省是内陆省份,拥有全国最长的省级内河航运网络之一。尽管如此,2009年,该运输网的货运量仅占全省总量的10%,其中只有小部分水道可以容纳1,000吨或以上船舶。

湘江是湖南水路运输的中心,它将湖南六座城市与中国东海岸连接起来,构成以长江为起点的更大运输网的一部分。

“湖南的人口和工业集中在湘江沿岸,为中国内地向其主要东部沿海市场运输矿产和农产品带来了巨大机会。”亚洲开发银行(亚行)高级交通专家尼古拉斯·狄卡斯泰利(Nicolas Dei Castelli)表示,“但由于湘江中上游水深有限,岸滩长而多石,港口基础设施和装载设施陈旧不足,大型船舶无法通行。”

为了加强湖南省的内河航运,亚行在该省偏远农村地区资助建设了航运水电综合设施、内河港口、停靠站,同时帮助强化了相关制度。

亚行于2012年12月批准了一笔1.5亿美元贷款,用于“湖南湘江内河航运项目”,预计总成本超过3.93亿美元;项目计划在贷款批准后5年内实施。

本项目的最大工程是位于衡阳市上游约39公里处的航运水电综合设施。

扩大吞吐量

本项目的拦河坝是航运水电综合设施的组成部分,共有17道闸门——可以通过打开或关闭闸门来控制河道水流。如果一艘船需要通过拦河坝,那么应先通过一道船闸。船闸有助于船只在水位急剧变化时航行。本项目的船闸位于河流的一侧,设计最多可容纳四艘千吨级船只。

此外,本项目包括建设一座径流式水电站,总装机容量为90兆瓦,正常年发电量为3.582亿千瓦时。狄卡斯泰利先生谈到:“整个拦河坝具备多种用途,水力发电提供的收入将有助于该省收回投资成本。”

船闸于2014年12月竣工通航,4台发电机于2015年12月至2016年9月开始运行,目前已实现并网,年发电量达到3.5亿千瓦时。

项目工地的货运码头原本只有适合小型船舶的停泊处和装载坡道,最大泊位只能容纳300吨的船舶。本项目旨在提高该省内河航道网络的港口吞吐量。项目提供了两个货运码头的工程设计,每个码头建设一个100米混凝土泊位,尽管实际只需要位于松柏镇的一个。

松柏货运泊位于2017年投入使用,包括一个1,000载重吨通用泊位和一条470米的通道。除了改善泊位,码头还增加了新设施,例如开放式货物储存区、仓库和车间。本项目共建成约126个公共栈桥、7,419米护栏、26.8公里护岸,为农村社区提供了更好、更安全的水路通道。通过培训和能力建设,本项目也为女性提供了就业机会,使其有效参与项目,解决女性的需求。

项目设计中还包括一条鱼道,以保护鱼类和其他水生动物,防止它们被卷入水电涡轮机。

消除瓶颈

内河航道经改善后,消除了湘江中游“瓶颈”,实现了1,000载重吨船舶从湘江近尾洲至长江畅通无阻。本项目完工后,通过工程地点的船舶平均规模从2010年的225载重吨增加到2018年的887载重吨。

“本项目改善了湘江的低碳水路运输系统,为该省建立高效、安全、经济、可持续的内河航运系统做出了贡献。”亚行驻中国代表处首席代表冯幽兰表示,“作为亚行在中国的第一个内河航运项目,它展示出亚行决心将未来交通运输领域的支持重心放在更可持续的交通方式上。”

2012年至2019年,每吨公里运输成本下降0.039元人民币(约0.5美分),这将大大促进区域经济发展。综合设施所在的衡南县年均增长率达到99.33%,远高于全省71.86%的平均水平。衡阳、永州农村居民收入增速也远高于城镇居民,城乡居民收入差距明显缩小。

“内河航运可以作为一种有成本效益的高效绿色运输替代方案,特别是对于货运服务而言。”亚行东亚局可持续基础设施处处长苏加塔·库帕塔(Sujata Gupta)表示,“正如本项目所示,发达的内河航运网络为人们和企业提供了更可靠的货物运输选择,最大限度地促进了交通互联。”

本文作者为亚行交流局主任交流专家格雷厄姆·德威尔(Graham Dwyer)。

SHARE THIS PAGE

Inland waterways offer sustainable transport for the People's Republic of China’s Hunan Province

Project Result / Case Study | 20 July 2021

Hunan in the People’s Republic of China (PRC) is a landlocked province with one of the longest provincial inland waterway transport networks in the country. Yet in 2009, the network carried only 10% of the province’s overall freight, since only a small fraction of it could accommodate vessels of carrying capacity of 1,000 tons or more.

Central to Hunan’s waterway transport is the Xiang River, which connects six of Hunan’s cities with the PRC’s eastern seaboard and forms part of a bigger network that starts at the Yangtze River.

“Hunan’s population and industry are concentrated along the Xiang River, which offers great opportunities for shipping minerals and agricultural products from the PRC’s interior to its major eastern seaboard markets,” says Asian Development Bank (ADB) Senior Transport Specialist Nicolas Dei Castelli. “But passage for large vessels was held back by limited water depth and long rocky shoals along the Xiang River’s middle and upper reaches as well as obsolete and insufficient infrastructure and loading facilities in the river’s ports.”

To enhance inland water transport in the province, ADB helped finance the construction of a navigation–cum–hydropower complex in Hunan, an inland port, and landing stations in remote rural areas, while providing associated institutional strengthening.

ADB approved in December 2012 a $150 million loan toward the total estimated cost of more than $393 million for the Hunan Xiangjiang Inland Waterway Transport Project, which was planned to be carried out over the following 5 years.

The biggest part of the project was the construction of a navigation and hydropower complex about 39 kilometers upstream of Hengyang City.

Expanding capacity

The project’s barrage, which forms part of the navigation complex, has 17 sluice gates—mechanisms that can be opened or closed to control river flow. For vessels to pass the barrage, they go through a ship lock which enables them to navigate through steep changes in the level of the river. The project’s ship lock is located on one side of the river, and was designed to hold up to four 1,000–ton vessels.

The project included construction of a run–of–the–river hydropower generation plant with a total installed capacity of 90 megawatts (MW) and normal annual energy output of 358.2 million kilowatt–hours. “The entire barrage was designed to be multipurpose, with hydroelectricity generation providing revenue that would help the province recover the investment cost,” says Mr. Dei Castelli.

The ship lock was completed and opened to navigation in December 2014, and the four power generators started operation between December 2015 and September 2016. They have been connected to the grid with an annual production capacity of 350 million kilowatt-hours.

Cargo terminals in the project site had only main moorings and loading ramps for small vessels, with the biggest berth capable of receiving vessels with capacities of only 300 tons. The project sought to increase the port capacity of the province’s inland waterway network. Engineering designs for two cargo terminals, each with a 100 meter concrete berth were devised, although only one was needed—at Songbai.

The Songbai cargo berth began operations in 2017 and included a 1,000 deadweight tons (DWT) universal berth and a 470 meter access road. Apart from improving the berths, new facilities were added to the terminals, such as open cargo storage areas, warehouses, and workshops. Some 126 public landing stages were built along with 7,419 meters of guardrails and 26.8 kilometers of riverbank protection, giving rural communities better and safer access to the waterway. The project addressed women’s needs by promoting employment opportunities and their effective project participation through training and capacity building.

Also incorporated into the project design was a fish pass, to ensure that no fish and other aquatic animals will be carried into the hydropower turbines.

Eliminating bottlenecks

Improved inland waterway navigation has eliminated the “bottleneck” in the middle reaches of the Xiang River, allowing 1,000 DWT ships to navigate from Jinweizhou on the Xiang River to the Yangtze River. After completion, the average size of vessels navigating through the project site increased from 225 DWT in 2010 to 887 DWT in 2018.

“The project has improved the low-carbon waterway transport system on the Xiang River and contributed to an efficient, safe, affordable, and sustainable inland waterway transport system in the province,” says ADB Country Director in the PRC Yolanda Fernandez Lommen. “As ADB’s first inland waterway transport project in the PRC, it also demonstrated ADB’s commitment to focusing future transport sector support on more sustainable forms of transport.”

Transportation costs decreased by CNY0.039 (about half a US cent) per ton-km between 2012 and 2019, which will significantly boost regional economic development. Hengnan county, where the complex is located, achieved an annual growth rate of 99.33%, much higher than the provincial average of 71.86%. The income of rural residents in Hengyang and Yongzhou has also been growing much faster than that of urban residents, while income gaps between urban and rural residents have narrowed significantly.

“Inland waterway transport can be an efficient, cost-effective, and green transport alternative, especially for cargo services,” says ADB Director of the Sustainable Infrastructure Division in the East Asia Department Sujata Gupta. “As this project shows, a well-developed inland waterway network provides people and businesses with a more reliable option to transport their goods, and maximize opportunities for interconnection.”

This article was written by Graham Dwyer, Principal Communications Specialist at ADB's Department of Communications.