中华人民共和国直面废水挑战

Project Result / Case Study | 2016年10月31日

快速城镇化使中华人民共和国(中国)水资源问题更加严峻。中国400多座城市正面临水资源短缺。

中华人民共和国济南——在这个充满活力的国家,人口占世界总人口的20%,而淡水占有量仅为7%。

在城镇快速发展和水污染的重压之下,这一严峻形势的管理变得愈加困难。中华人民共和国(中国)683座城市中超过400座城市报告水资源短缺。平均日缺水量为1.6亿吨,约为160, 000人一年的消耗总量。

蓬勃发展的中国城市排放的废水量甚至超过了工厂。截至2012年,废水排放量达680亿吨,其中城市排放量占62%,工业排放占38%。废水排放近一半以上来自于高度城市化的省份——广东、江苏、山东、浙江、河南和福建。

与私营部门建立合作伙伴关系

循环利用可以解决淡水短缺和废水过量并存的问题。中国政府与亚洲开发银行(亚行)、私营公司和社区开展合作,探寻具有成本效益的创新方式,将废水转化为清洁的可用水。

北控水务集团有限公司和北控中科成环保集团有限公司的污水处理与回用项目便是此类合作的一个成功案例。

夏津污水处理厂位于上海和北京之间的山东省境内,地处中国东部沿海地区。作为污水处理与回用项目的组成部分,该厂每年的废水处理量达6亿吨。

亚行私营部门业务局东亚区主任木村寿香(Hisaka Kimura)表示,“这是在中华人民共和国尝试的首个同类大型污水处理项目,为今后几年如何解决这一系列问题树立了榜样。”

升级改造后,夏津污水处理厂的设施排放出的中水应能够应用于一系列工业和城市设施。

节约淡水

木村寿香称:“充分利用技术处理后的废水可以满足具体需求和目标,例如机械冷却或锅炉运行等工业用途,或城市景观用水。这样就可以节约出更多的优质淡水用于饮用和做饭。”

"我们希望在水资源与能源之间开辟新领域。"

木村寿香

废水处理成淡水的过程能耗较高,其中用电量占废水处理成本的一半。为迎接该挑战,政府与亚行和其他国际合作伙伴开展合作,支持能源审计和管理系统,共享节能解决方案和政府政策信息,推动能效利用。

木村寿香表示,“能源构成了市政用水服务的主要成本。以这个项目为模板,我们希望在水资源与能源之间开辟新领域。”

在山东省省会济南市的SK加油站,废水经北控水务旗下的污水处理厂处理后直接投入使用。据SK加油站工作人员56岁的薛英波介绍,每天有超过60辆汽车是用处理后的废水清洗的。这一举措不仅节约了淡水资源,也使当地企业通过购买中水取代自来水的消耗,节省了成本。

胜鑫园林公司也是北控水务污水处理厂的用户,其将处理后的净化水用于城市街道清洁和绿化浇灌。通过使用处理后的废水,公司每年节省资金相当于9,000多美元。

而家住夏津县东关村57岁的棉农王子龙,他的故事却与赚钱存钱无关。清洁水关乎生活品质。王子龙常到九龙口湿地钓鱼,湿地用水均是水厂处理过的水。

他说,“这里的水很干净,鱼也很多。”

阚磊,亚洲开发银行驻中国代表处高级对外关系官员。了解更多有关亚行在中华人民共和国的工作。

Meeting the Wastewater Challenge in the People’s Republic of China | Asian Development Bank

Meeting the Wastewater Challenge in the People’s Republic of China

Project Result / Case Study | 31 October 2016

As water shortages worsen, the People’s Republic of China is recycling millions of tons of wastewater for use in factories, cleaning streets, and washing cars.

Jinan, People's Republic of China – This vast dynamic country has 20% of the world’s population but only 7% of the earth’s freshwater.

Managing this challenging situation is made more difficult by rapid urbanization and water pollution. More than 400 of the People’s Republic of China’s (PRC) 683 cities report water shortages. The average daily shortfall is 16 million tons, equivalent to the annual consumption of about 160,000 people.

The booming cities of the PRC are discharging more wastewater than the country’s factories. As of 2012, 68 billion tons of wastewater was discharged, with cities producing 62% and industry producing 38%. Nearly half of the country’s wastewater comes from the heavily urbanized provinces of Guangdong, Jiangsu, Shandong, Zhejiang, Henan, and Fujian.

Partnering with the private sector

Recycling is one solution to the combined problems of a lack of freshwater and an excess of wastewater. The government of the PRC is working with the Asian Development Bank (ADB), private companies, and communities to find innovative and cost-effective ways to turn wastewater into clean, usable water.

One example of this partnership can be found in the Beijing Enterprises Water Group Limited and BEWG Environmental Group Company Limited Wastewater Treatment and Reuse Project.

As part of the project, the Xiajin Wastewater Treatment Plant—located in Shandong province midway between Shanghai and Beijing on the country’s east coast—is processing 600 million tons of wastewater each year.

“This is the first large scale wastewater treatment project attempted in the People’s Republic of China and it is setting an example for how to address this serious problem in the years ahead,” said Hisaka Kimura, East Asia Unit Head of ADB’s Private Sector Operations Department.

Once upgraded, facilities like the one in Xiajin should be able to discharge water that is considered acceptable for use in a range of industrial and urban settings.

Conserving fresh water

"With adequate technologies, wastewater can be treated to meet specific needs and purposes, such as for industrial use in machine cooling or boiler operation, or for watering city gardens. In this way, high quality freshwater can be freed up for uses such as drinking and cooking,” said Kimura.

"We hope to cultivate a new frontier for the nexus of water and energy."

Hisaka Kimura

Turning wastewater into fresh water is energy-intensive with electricity accounting for half the cost of wastewater treatment. To meet this challenge, the government is working with ADB and other international partners to support energy audits and management systems, as well as sharing information on energy-saving solutions and government policies that promote efficient energy use.

"Energy constitutes a major cost for municipal water service,” said Kimura. "With this project as a model, we hope to cultivate a new frontier for the nexus of water and energy.”

At the SK gasoline station in Jinan, the capital city of Shandong province, the wastewater being processed at the BEWG facility is put to practical use. Xue Yingbo, 56, who works at the station, said more than 60 cars a day are washed with treated wastewater. This conserves fresh water for human consumption and saves money for the local business which can buy the treated water for less than tap water.

Another user of the facility’s treated water is the Shengxin Greening Company, which is using it to clean city streets and water plants. By using the treated wastewater, the company saves more than the equivalent of $9,000 a year.

For Wang Zilong, a 57-year-old cotton farmer living in Xiajin, it is not about making or saving money. Clean water is about quality of life. He often goes fishing in Jiulongkou wetland, which is filled with treated wastewater.

"The water here is clean and there are lots of fish," he said.

Kan Lei is a Senior External Relations Officer in ADB's People's Republic of China Resident Mission. Learn more about ADB's work in the People's Republic of China.