保护中国的湿地

Project Result / Case Study | 2016年7月28日

为保护濒危鸟类和哺乳动物、改善环境,以及帮助依靠湿地谋生的人,中华人民共和国(中国)政府正致力于保护其最重要的湿地,这些湿地位于江苏省,临近上海和南京。

江苏省位于中国海岸线的中部,其南部紧邻上海和南京两大都市,坐拥中国最重要的湿地之一。

这些湿地中有近50万公顷位于盐城市,沿海岸绵延580公里,包括潮间滩涂、溪流、咸水沼泽和芦苇床。这些湿地自然保护区具有丰富的生物多样性,是一些濒危鸟类和动物的家园,其中就包括从灭绝边缘获救的麋鹿、丹顶鹤等,其重要性得到了国际社会的公认。

同时,亚洲开发银行(亚行)还在这些地区尝试开展湿地保护和生态修复项目。江苏盐城湿地保护项目批准于2011年末,提供贷款3,690万美元,用于修复改造约3,600公顷湿地、麋鹿活动场地和1,000公顷沿海森林。

亚行东亚局的一位处长张庆丰表示,“湿地不仅是重要的生态系统,也是维持人类生存的必需资源,为人类提供多种食物来源——从鱼类、贝类、蔬菜到纤维、燃料、木材等,不一而足。

对这些自然湿地的高产量最依赖的就是穷人。然而,尽管湿地提供了鱼类繁殖区,使得人们最终可在海中捕鱼,但人们并没有广泛认识到湿地对于捕鱼业的重要性。”

此外,这两片自然保护区每年还吸引着来自世界各地的数百名生态旅游者,为当地人创造了工作岗位,带来收入。

不过,沿海湿地的功能不仅仅局限于满足人类和野生动物的生活需求。湿地植物可以减缓河流流速;滩涂可以吸收黄海的海浪能,有助于保护该地免受海岸侵蚀、海啸威胁和风暴潮的影响。湿地还可以吸收盐城市急剧恶化的生活和工业污染,从而改善水质。它们可以调节当地气候,帮助提高农业生产力。

“湿地不仅是重要的生态系统,也是维持人类生存的必需资源,为人类提供多种食物来源——从鱼类、贝类、蔬菜到纤维、燃料木材等,不一而足。”

张庆丰

沿海湿地虽然意义重大,但却一直在迅速缩减。自上世纪80年代以来,超过一半的野生动物栖息地已经消失,而鱼塘等资源开发地的数量却增长了8倍。

现任亚行驻中国代表处的项目负责人牛志明表示,“在农业开垦、工业改造、城市扩张、污染、甚至是捕猎的威胁下,野生动物栖息地正在消失,生物多样性也随之受到破坏。如果没有及时行动和适当管理,该地区的生态系统将持续恶化,这些湿地将面临消失的风险。”

近年来,江苏省政府已经启动将鱼塘恢复为湿地的大型项目。同时也在引入并推广保护性耕作和有机耕作等农耕实践。这些做法旨在支持当地人采取替代性的、更可持续的谋生方式,同时改善珍稀鸟类和动物的栖息环境。

全球环境基金额外提供225万美元资金,用于帮助在项目设计中融入生态补偿方案等其他各项举措,从而支持生态保护和修复。

亚行即将启动该计划,项目设计旨在建立两个自然保护区的业务管理计划,并将试点创新性的生态补偿计划。

张处长表示,“生态补偿旨在补偿目标社区因减少农药使用而导致产量下滑所带来的损失。我们希望,作为保护中国湿地的一项长期可持续的举措,湿地生态补偿能成为政府融资计划的一部分。”

Graham Dwyer 在亚行对外关系局任高级交流专家。如您对我们的工作感兴趣,请点击亚行在中国 并关注 我们的微博

Preserving the Wetlands of the People’s Republic of China | Asian Development Bank

Preserving the Wetlands of the People’s Republic of China

Project Result / Case Study | 28 July 2016

The government of the People’s Republic of China is working to protect some of the country’s most important wetlands, in Jiangsu province near Shanghai and Nanjing, to help endangered birds and mammals, the environment, and the people who rely on the areas to make a living.

In the center of the of the People’s Republic of China’s coast, immediately north of the great cities of Shanghai and Nanjing, lies Jiangsu province, home to one of the most important wetlands in the country.

Almost half a million hectares of these wetlands are in Yancheng municipality, stretching for 580 kilometers along the coast, comprising intertidal mudflats, creeks, salt marshes, and reed beds. Rich in biodiversity, home to endangered birds and animals, including the milu deer—brought back from the edge of extinction—and red-crowned crane, the wetlands’ nature reserves are internationally recognized for their importance.

They are also the location of a pioneering Asian Development Bank project focusing on wetland conservation and restoration. Approved at the end of 2011 with a loan of $36.9 million, the Jiangsu Yancheng Wetlands Protection project is in the process of restoring about 3,600 hectares of wetlands as well as the milu deer grounds and 1,000 hectares of coastal forests.

“Wetlands are not just important ecosystems, but also are needed to sustain humans by providing sources of food—whether fish, shellfish, or vegetables—and fiber, wood for fuel, and plenty more,” said Qingfeng Zhang, a Director in ADB’s East Asia Regional Department.

“It’s the poor that are most dependent on the high productivity of these natural wetlands. The importance to fisheries particularly is not always widely appreciated, since the wetlands provide the breeding grounds for the fish that you catch later out in the sea.”

The two nature reserves also attract hundreds of eco-tourists each year from around the world, generating jobs and income for local communities.

But coastal wetlands have functions beyond serving the people and wildlife that live off them. Wetland plants slow the flow of rivers, and the mudflats absorb wave energy from the Yellow Sea, helping to protect the area against coastal erosion, the threat of tsunamis, and storm surges. The wetlands also improve water quality by absorbing some of the rapidly worsening pollution from households and industry in Yancheng municipality. They regulate the local climate and help boost agricultural productivity.

“Wetlands are not just important ecosystems, but also are needed to sustain humans by providing sources of food—whether fish, shellfish, or vegetables—and fiber, wood for fuel, and plenty more.”

Qingfeng Zhang

Despite their importance the coastal wetlands have been suffering rapid decline. Since the 1980s, more than half of the wildlife habitat has vanished, while the amount of fishponds and other developments has expanded by eight times.

“What we have been seeing is the loss of wildlife habitats with an associated loss of biodiversity, as they suffer at the hands of reclamation for agriculture or industry and urban expansion, pollution, and even poaching,” said Niu Zhiming, who is currently leading the project from ADB’s field office in the People’s Republic of China. “Without prompt action and proper management of the area, the ecological decline is expected to continue, risking the disappearance of the wetlands.”

The Jiangsu provincial government has started a large program to restore the wetlands from fishing pools in recent years. Farming practices such as conservation agriculture and organic farming are also being introduced and promoted extensively. These aim to support alternative and more sustainable livelihoods for local communities while improving the habitats for rare birds and animals.

Additional financing of $2.25 million from the Global Environment Facility enabled inclusion into the project design of numerous other measures including an eco-compensation scheme to support conservation and restoration.

ADB is about to initiate the program, which is designed to establish operational management plans for the two nature reserves and will pilot innovative eco-compensation programs.

“The eco-compensation will aim to offset losses of lower yields due to reduced application of pesticides in targeted communities,” said Mr. Zhang. “Hopefully, wetland eco-compensation can be integrated into government financing as part of a long-term and sustained effort to protect the country’s wetlands.”

Graham Dwyer is a Senior Communications Specialist in ADB’s Department of External Relations. Learn more about ADB's work in the People's Republic of China and follow the Resident Mission on Weibo.